My thoughts on the Samsung Galaxy S4

Samsung came out with the Galaxy S4 smartphone as a successor to it’s wildly popular Galaxy S3 phone. I am a proud owner of a Samsung Galaxy S2, I did not buy the S3 as I was a bit tight on money when it was released and I was more than satisfied with the S2. Yes, the S3 had bells and whistles that excited me, but the core needs of a smartphone were and are satisfied by the S2. Now that the S4 is out, will I buy it?My initial reaction when I saw and heard about the S4 was amazement, just the sheer power under the hood was unbelievable and totally mind blowing. It is shipping with an octa-core processor in India and that is amazingly powerful! This is the computing power that huge servers had back in my day.  Along with that, the new enhancements are like the scroll and stop based on “eye” tracking as Samsung claimed, but later turns out that it is just the way you tilt the phone that controls it. Cool nonetheless, then there is the magic dual shot where you take snaps with both the front and rear camera at the same time.

Image Copyright Samsung

Image Copyright Samsung

I am a bit confused about that feature though, using that mode, now I will be looking at how I look on the photo and not how the photo looks which what I should be doing. I can understand that as a feature in video calls, but in a photo? Hmm

Everything is big, the screen is larger (5 inches), the resolution greater (1080p), the battery capacity higher (2,600mAh), the processor faster (1.9GHz quad-core or 1.6GHz octa-core), and the rear-facing camera stuffed with more megapixels (13, to be exact). But, once you’ve gone through the features checklist (which also includes lots of internal and external storage space and RAM), it’s the software extras that Samsung continues to lean on to keep its phones one step ahead of the competition, says CNET.

The Galaxy S4 runs none other than Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean, the most up-to-date version of Android you can get right now. Riding on top of it as usual is Samsung’s Touch Wiz, which if you ask me is a huge pain in the backside. Touch Wiz is silly, bloated and has to go. Otherwise Samsung has a potential problem on their hands. I am also miffed about a lot of Samsung Apps that no one uses but Samsung keep shipping anyway, just killing space and processor load.

I am not a big fan of the translation tool that ships with this phone. Just another attempted shot at Google I say. I am also excited about Air View and Gestures, but these need time to mature as serious features.

Overall, will I buy it? Hell Yeah!

Leave a Reply

